2
$\begingroup$

When starting a comment with @Username, the referred user gets a notification message (red flag in his postbox).

1) If not starting a comment with @Username, and subsequently editing it with @Username at beginning, does the referred user then get a notification?

2) If an initial @Username is removed by comment edit, does the notification vanish?

If answer is no, I would like to feature-request these two cases.

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ What feature are you requesting? $\endgroup$ – user147263 Jul 22 '14 at 22:18
2
$\begingroup$

Testing showed that the information below is partly incorrect. Editing @ into a comment does not do anything.

Editing @username out of a comment will preserve the comment in the recipient's inbox, but remove the red inbox light.


The answers to such questions are subject to change without notice. Information available on Meta (here and here; to a lesser extent here) points to the following:

  1. A notification will be generated if @ was there at any point of time (added later, or present initially and then removed).
  2. Notification will also be generated if your comment is deleted. The user will get a snippet of the comment in the notification, but following the link they will find only the post under which the comment was.
$\endgroup$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .