3
$\begingroup$

As most people know, when a user is deleted their votes are deleted and this affects reputation, according to this link https://math.stackexchange.com/help/user-was-removed there is a special deletion that does not delete votes. How exactly does this deletion of votes work, what is the criterion to select which of the two deletions occurs specifically?

Regards.

$\endgroup$
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ It seems that some details can be found at meta.SE: Which users getting removed DON'T cause rep changes? $\endgroup$ – Martin Sleziak Jul 6 '15 at 14:31
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ As far as I know, there are no public specifications of exact criteria for special deletion. From my experience, such deletions are handled case-by-case. (In fact, essentially all deletions of users with more than 1000 rep are handled case-by-case. They're pretty rare, even here. There's just so little reason to completely remove a user). I don't see any problem with this freedom of choice granted to the SE Comm Team, nor with the rough heuristic that if you're deleted, your votes and rep disappear. $\endgroup$ – davidlowryduda Jul 6 '15 at 15:33
  • $\begingroup$ Thanks @mixedmath. I was just curious as to whether there was a clear criteria or if it was case by case. I appreciate the response. $\endgroup$ – Jorge Fernández Hidalgo Jul 6 '15 at 15:34

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .