On March 29th and 30th of this year, a couple of users were deleted. I noticed that at least one very high-reputation user lost about 13K in reputation from these deletions (which amounts to about 3% of his reputation total).
I'm curious: what happened here? My understanding of stackexchange policy was that in cases in which deletion might cause such large reputation changes, the mods would step in to manually over-ride them. Is this not the case?