5
$\begingroup$

Some of my questions have been closed. A box appears with the title "Closed". In it the message "Private feedback for you" appears. In my email box no message from Stack Overflow appears. Is this message readable in some link in the closed thread page?

| |
$\endgroup$
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ There should be some text below the "Private feedback for you" or maybe a link you can click. That text is the feedback, it is not personalized but if you look at the same post while not logged in (open eg a "private" browser window you'll see the difference). No email or other message is sent. $\endgroup$ – quid Aug 18 at 21:50
  • $\begingroup$ There is no text below. Only two links: 'Edit question' and 'Delete question'! $\endgroup$ – stf91 Aug 18 at 23:16
  • $\begingroup$ The answer explains which text is meant. $\endgroup$ – quid Aug 18 at 23:18
  • $\begingroup$ @quid: 'There should be some text below the "Private feedback for you"': The text is above it, not below. The answer explains nothing. Nothing at all. $\endgroup$ – stf91 Aug 19 at 0:13
  • $\begingroup$ Indeed it is above, sorry for the confusion. The answer post here points out exactly what text is meant. $\endgroup$ – quid Aug 19 at 0:22
  • $\begingroup$ The answer is: "The "private feedback" for this question is the (rather obvious) Some community members have associated this post with a similar question". It should be "The "private feedback" for this question is the (rather obvious) text Some community members have associated this post with a similar question". Or, yet better: "The "private feedback" for this question is the following text: Some community members have associated this post with a similar question". . $\endgroup$ – stf91 Aug 19 at 0:46
6
$\begingroup$

The "private feedback" for this question is the (rather obvious)

Some community members have associated this post with a similar question.

If you open the question in a private window, or in another browser where you're not logged in, you'll see this:

enter image description here

That banner doesn't include the 'private' part of the feedback, only shown to you and to other users with 3,000 reputation:

enter image description here

For a question closed as a duplicate, it isn't particularly helpful, but for community-specific ('off-topic') questions it might provide some guidance to improving the question so that it can be reopened.

This is a change in behaviour which was introduced in December of 2019. For more information, see the Meta Stack Exchange post New Post Notices are live network-wide and linked questions/blog posts there, e.g. this one.

| |
$\endgroup$
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ This question (on this meta) has also some screenshots and comments: New changes to close reasons. $\endgroup$ – Martin Sleziak Aug 19 at 5:08
  • $\begingroup$ Just as remark about the "Private feedback" message is that I don't understand how works it: my belief is that when I am not logged in the site (I've observed the same thing in other site) and I visit some post that was marked as closed but previously also was edited I believe that can to know why was closed and who cast these votes by clicking in the link edited ... below the post . For example the mentioned information is public when you do click in edited Jul 20 at 21:40 from the post math.meta.stackexchange.com/questions/32115/… $\endgroup$ – user759001 Aug 19 at 6:11

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .