- A post is closed.
- A user votes to delete that closed post.
- The post is reopened without ever having been deleted.
- The post is reclosed.
In this situation, the user who originally voted to delete the question cannot cast a subsequent deletion vote.
SE recently changed the way in which delete votes could be cast. Historically, if a user voted to delete a question and that delete vote was "cleared" (either through the post being reopened, or the post being deleted), that user could cast another vote to delete the question (assuming that it was reclosed or undeleted).
After the change, a user can only vote to delete a question once. Moreover, unlike close and reopen votes, delete and undelete votes do not age away, thus a user cannot vote to delete a post for a second time ever.
After some discussion with others, I get the impression that the current behaviour is unexpected (from the point of view of a user). The informal consensus appears to be that if a delete vote doesn't contribute to action being taken, then the user who cast the vote should be permitted to cast a second vote (or, alternatively, that if a question is reopened and then reclosed, the existing delete votes should remain).
The purpose of this question is (a) to get clarity from SE about the intended behaviour is (is this a bug?), and (b) to discuss, as a community, what we believe the correct behaviour should be.