9
$\begingroup$

It used to be that every time I wrote a question, the LaTeX in the preview would almost instantly compile. As of this week, I have to wait several seconds before seeing it appear. Nothing on my end (OS, browser, browser settings etc.) changed, what changed on this site?

$\endgroup$
11
  • 3
    $\begingroup$ I have also noticed this happening, and sometimes it's quite a bit longer than just a few seconds. This would be a nightmare for a user new to LaTex formatting... $\endgroup$ Feb 16, 2023 at 22:29
  • $\begingroup$ Are you talking about the preview or about the final question (after posting)? In case it helps, I will point out that you can choose various MathJax renderers: How do I change Math Renderer for MathJax? and What is the difference between the 3 math renderers? $\endgroup$ Feb 17, 2023 at 2:28
  • $\begingroup$ My impression after the recent design revamp was that rendering seemed to have slowed somewhat, got used to that; then, earlier, while I was searching for posts, the mathjax wouldn't render in the results preview, like how the OP is describing (@MartinSleziak we are referring to the final posts, not the submission previews), so I turned off all browser extensions to verify that they aren't the culprit (some extensions are resource hogs), yet the issue is persisting. In case switching renderer helps, Martin, which renderer is the leanest and quickest? $\endgroup$
    – ryang
    Feb 17, 2023 at 7:54
  • $\begingroup$ @ryang The question which MathJax renderer is fastest is probably a question for somebody who knows more about this that I do. (Naturally, anybody can try their own experiments.) The name suggests that Preview HTML is fast - but does not look too well. My guess would be that Common HTML might be relatively fast. An answer to one of the linked post says about SVG that "there should be no dependence on local fonts (but it's generally slow to render, at least in my experience)". $\endgroup$ Feb 17, 2023 at 11:00
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ It will be interesting to see whether this changes after switching to a newer version of MathJax. But at the moment, it is not clear if SE plans to do that. (And if yes, we do not know when.) $\endgroup$ Feb 17, 2023 at 11:03
  • 4
    $\begingroup$ I have the same problem! $\endgroup$
    – Filippo
    Feb 17, 2023 at 13:29
  • $\begingroup$ @MartinSleziak It turns out that on my system, the only satisfactory renderer is the one I've been using all along, HTML-CSS. The other ones either don't look good, or pose issues when trying to copy symbols by selecting-then-copying. $\endgroup$
    – ryang
    Feb 17, 2023 at 18:48
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ I also have the same problem $\endgroup$
    – Max Muller
    Feb 20, 2023 at 9:59
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @MartinSleziak The markdown preview $\endgroup$ Feb 21, 2023 at 21:18
  • $\begingroup$ I tried this on a Chrome browser with Windows OS and Safari browser with macOS. On the former, there is no issue with rendering, but on the latter, the render is extremely slow and I cannot put (lower or upper) indices on a summation symbol. Any attempt to put an index on the summation symbol makes the entire mathematical expression not render. $\endgroup$
    – sunspots
    Feb 22, 2023 at 17:38
  • $\begingroup$ @MartinSleziak This issue is related to this new report. Additionally: recently, the issue (mathjax, during preview, either refusing or taking forever to render) seemed to have resolved, but it started recurring yesterday. $\endgroup$
    – ryang
    Mar 12, 2023 at 6:36

0

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .