3
$\begingroup$

Possible Duplicate:
Reputation decrease citing “User was removed”

I see a -20 decrement of 'reputation' for October 6, and the text next to it just says "user was removed." However, my username, question history, etc., all seem to be intact. What is this mysterious -20 from, and what is it referring to when it says that 'user was removed'?

$\endgroup$

marked as duplicate by Eric Naslund Dec 17 '12 at 5:09

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

8
$\begingroup$

It means that a user was removed. This removes all posts they own with negative total score, possibly including questions that you answered and received upvotes on. (Also, it's called "reputation" here, not karma.)

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ I see. So another user removed the account, leading to losing karma I may have accrued from answering posts of theirs. Thank you. $\endgroup$ – ely Oct 22 '12 at 19:02
  • 9
    $\begingroup$ @EMS, not karma. $\endgroup$ – picakhu Oct 22 '12 at 21:37
1
$\begingroup$

If users are deleted, all their votes are deleted with them. So if they have upvoted you, those votes will be lost and you'll lose the reputation you gained from them.

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ Seems, one can also win with that deleting of users. Just got 61 points for don't-know-for-what in the previous hour - it even does not appear in the reputation-history ... $\endgroup$ – Gottfried Helms Oct 23 '12 at 16:54

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .