When a user account gets deleted, some of its actions (votes, reviews, etc.) sometimes move to the Community account so they will not be nullified (sometimes we do want these to be nullified, in which case the Community user is not assuming ownership on these actions).
Sometimes it's easy to just leave some traces of who was that user. But sometimes it's ...
Comment-answers are not answers. The system doesn't treat them as answers, no reputation gain is possible, it is not possible for others to upvote [edit: whoops, you can upvote a comment; but it's not quite the same], downvote, correct, edit, or otherwise directly engage with a comment.
If a user posts a complete answer as a comment, then that user has mis-...
The user was deleted. When that happens, their negatively voted questions are deleted, too. There is some debate as to whether this should be done when there are upvoted answers. I will undelete the question since there are upvoted answers.
When a user with the edit privilege (reputation ≥ 2000) submits an edit, any pending suggested edit on the post is automatically rejected. The rejection is marked as performed by Community.
You proposed your edit at 16:46:21. Davide submitted his edit at 16:46:38. You both edited from the original version of the post, and Davide's submission overrode yours.
The question asker deleted their account, and upon account-deletion, all negatively-scored content from that account is deleted.
So the question did meet the criteria for deletion, although not those for roomba-deletion.
See Should we unbugger the changes Community has just made, or will they be automatically fixed? at meta.stackexchange. (And other questions linked there.)
In short, recently meta.stackoverflow was split into http://meta.stackoverflow.com (which will serve as a meta for SO) and http://meta.stackexchange.com (which will serve as meta for the whole network). ...
From the MSE deletion faq:
If the question is more than 365 days old, and ...
has a score of 0 or a score of 1 with a deleted owner
has no answers
is not locked
has a viewcount <= the age of the question in days times 1.5
has 1 or 0 comments
... it will be automatically deleted.
(Actually, the above is quoted from an answer by ...
So I guess you are talking about the Vote Early, Vote Often and Wireless hats, whose descriptions say, respectively
cast a total of 250 votes on any seven consecutive UTC days
vote on ten questions or answers using the Android or iOS app
One thing to keep in mind is that Community has not earned either of these hats on math.se, but on other sites. ...
The Community user is mostly a token in a data base.
The edits done by the community user are for the most part suggested edits that were proposed and approved by users. In rare cases SE starts some automated mass edit and that is also attributed to this user.
Other than that actions by deleted user accounts get transferred to Community user. It is also ...
This is not a separate answer, just a tip to keep in mind with respect to users who delete their accounts, or their accounts are deleted. I'd comment, but I plan to post an image, which I can't do in a comment.
When you see any user######, along with the ghost like avatar, you can know that the user no longer has an account. Also, note that unlike users ...
Comments are adequately credited by words like "as stated in the comments by user $U$ ... ". The CW mode has its disadvantages, and not everyone will want to use it.
It makes sense for authors to decide their use of CW based on whether they want to give more users the ability to edit the answer. CW has beneficial applications such as answers that require ...
The poke consists of essentially nothing. It is a 'modification' of the thread that does not modify anything visible. The sole effect is that the question gets a new last modified time (by Community) and thus is put at the top of the active list, giving it visibility.
A user cannot do this in this way. A user could 'fake' this via modifying the thread in ...
If you click the word "edited", you get the question's revision history. From there, click "Suggested" to get the history of that particular suggested edit. It says:
proposed 11 hours ago by an anonymous user
and gives some other details of the process, including the edit statistics of said anonymous user.
The Community user has very many votes attached, see https://math.stackexchange.com/users/-1/community?tab=topactivity
A reason for this is that certain normal votes will be transferred to the Community user, mainly, to keep certain counts balanced in case of deletions.
Another, and perhaps more relevant to this, is that certain flags will cause an ...
I deleted my earlier answer because it was unduly judgemental and not thought through properly. After a long exchange of comments under zyx's answer, I do want to provide an alternative answer again now because I still disagree with zyx's answer.
It appears that there are different attitudes to using CW for lifting comments into answers. Good reasons have ...
As explained in some older posts, the fact that the bounty is owned by the Community user means that the user who originally offered the bounty have deleted their account. See: Bounty by Community? and How Does the Community User Set Bounties?
You can find similar past bounties in the bounties tab of the Community user profile's page. If you look at ...
That's a new feature for the first-post queues (as mentioned in a comment there are now two such queues, one for answers one for questions).
Reviewers are encouraged to leave comments for the post-author, but now they can also choose from a few options of canned feedback which will appear as a comment from the Community account.
See Review queue workflows -...
Both are acceptable.
However, my preference is that a flag for per-site moderators is raised explaining the request. On the one hand, this keeps us informed. On the other hand, it might make for a more efficient process.
A disassociation is not something to be asked just like that but only in justified cases. Thus, there might be a case where there is no ...
I just stumbled across this and thought it'd be worth formalizing the answer that has already been given in comments by Daniel Fischer and Jyrki Lahtonen. What happened is that the edit was proposed by an anonymous user, i.e. someone who was not logged in. Anonymous edits like that go into a queue to be reviewed by established users with 2000 reputation or ...
Timeline of events, all of which took place on 2014-04-19 (UTC).
The account user144176 was created between 04:40 and 04:55.
It suggested an edit at 11:59. The edit was approved.
Posted an answer at 12:19
Posted another answer at 13:34
Posted meta-answer at 15:02
Was deleted at 15:20, which is also the time of automatic deletion of the answer.
When an account is deleted, all negatively scored posts are also deleted as part of the script. (There is a more serious destroy option which deletes all associated content, but this is basically only used on spammers and the occasional troll account which posts needlessly offensive material.)
As such deletions are considered moderator deletions (that's ...